• BEST BRANDS

    20 February 2019

The Award

Best Brands – these are the brands that are commercially successful and trigger certain emotions: brands that shine, that stick in the mind of consumers and are associated with innovation and positive experiences.

Honouring and promoting successful brand management whilst also offering new, future-oriented communication solutions a strong forum: that is the aim of the Best Brands College and the evening’s Best Brands Gala, which has long since established itself as an annual highlight in the marketing industry. The event is hosted at the Hotel Bayerischer Hof in Munich by the Serviceplan Group, GfK (Germany’s largest market research institute), ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, the Markenverband (the German Brands Association), German publications WirtschaftsWoche and DIE ZEIT, and RMS.

The stand-out feature of the event is that the winners are chosen not by a panel of judges but solely by consumers – for the award-winning candidates are determined in a complex, representative study conducted by GfK consumer research institute based on two key yardsticks: their actual economic success in the market place and the perceived popularity of their brand among consumers. No other brand ranking currently factors in both these aspects of brand strength.

Since 2004 the award has been presented in the categories “Best Corporate Brand”, “Best Product Brand”, “Best Growth Brand” as well as a different special category that changes each year, in which the focus is on one specific industry sector. In 2019 it will be the “Best Digital Life Brand” – in previous years the “Best Millennials’ Brand” (Nike), “Best Future Mobility Brand” (Tesla), the “Best Highest-Growth E-Commerce Brand” (Amazon) or the “Best Fashion Brand” (Hugo Boss) were chosen by consumers.

Since 2012, the “Best Corporate Brand” has also been regularly analyzed on an international level, so that in 2019 the “Best German Corporate Brand iInternational” will be awarded.

Meanwhile, the marketing prize is also awarded annually in China, Italy, Belgium and France. The first event in Russia will probably take place in April 2019.

  • Best Corporate Brand

    Among the winning companies: Ikea (2018), BMW, Porsche, Miele, Amazon, Volkswagen, Google, Lufthansa, eBay, Siemens.

    In 2019, the “Best German Corporate Brand International” will be awarded for the fourth time. The reputation of German companies is measured not only in Germany but also in other important export countries in the most prominent economic regions, namely the USA (for North America), China (for Asia), Brazil (for Latin America) and France (for Europe).

  • Best Product Brand

    Among the winning companies: Nivea (2018), Coca-Cola, Nivea, Bose, Apple, Lego, Miele, Canon, Tchibo, Adidas.

    For the anniversary, at Best Brands 2018 Nivea was awarded as the “Best Product Brand of the last 15 Years”.

  • Best Growth Brand

    Among the winning companies: Lay’s (2018), Ferrero Duplo, WMF, Nike, Captain Morgan, Samsung, HTC, Apple, Mey, Sony Ericsson, Motorola, Haribo.

  • Special Category

    Among the winning companies: Nike (Best Millennials’ Brand), Tesla (Best Future Mobility Brand), Amazon (Best Highest-Growth E-Commerce-Brand), Hugo Boss (Best Fashion Brand), Adidas (Best Sports Brand), Chanel (Best Premium Beauty Brand), Gucci (Best Luxury Brand), Henkel (Best Sustainability Brand).

    In 2019, the “Best Digital Life Brand” will be awarded.

• DIE BESTEN MARKEN

    Best Brands, 20. Februar 2019

Der Award

„Best Brands“ – das sind Marken, die nicht nur wirtschaftlich erfolgreich sind, sondern auch Emotionen auslösen: Marken, die strahlen, die es in das Gedächtnis der Konsumenten geschafft haben, die mit Innovationen und positiven Erfahrungen verbunden werden.

Eine solch erfolgreiche Markenführung zu honorieren, zu fördern und gleichzeitig neuen zukunftsweisenden Kommunikationslösungen ein starkes Forum zu bieten, ist das Ziel des Best Brands Colleges und der abendlichen Best Brands Gala, die sich längst als festes Highlight der Marketingbranche etabliert hat und zu der die Serviceplan Gruppe, GfK, die ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, die WirtschaftsWoche, der Markenverband, DIE ZEIT und RMS jährlich in den Bayerischen Hof nach München einladen.

Das Besondere an der Auszeichnung ist, dass nicht eine Jury, sondern einzig die Verbraucher über die Gewinner entscheiden, denn die prämierten Kandidaten werden in einer komplexen repräsentativen Studie von GfK ermittelt und an zwei wesentlichen Kriterien gemessen: an ihrem tatsächlichen wirtschaftlichen Markterfolg und an der Beliebtheit der Marke in der Wahrnehmung der Konsumenten. Kein anderes Markenranking hat bisher beide Facetten der Markenstärke berücksichtigt.

Seit 2004 wird der Award in den Kategorien „Beste Unternehmensmarke“, „Beste Produktmarke“, „Beste Wachstumsmarke“ sowie einer jährlich wechselnden Sonderkategorie verliehen, bei der jeweils gezielt ein Branchenzweig unter die Lupe genommen wird. 2019 ist es die „Best Digital Life Brand“ – in den vergangenen Jahren wurden die „Best Millennials‘ Brand“ (Nike), „Best Future Mobility Marke“ (Tesla), die „Beste wachstumsstärkste E-Commerce Marke“ (Amazon) oder die „Beste Modemarke“ (Hugo Boss) ermittelt.

Seit 2012 wird die „Beste Unternehmensmarke“ auch regelmäßig auf internationaler Ebene analysiert, sodass 2019 die „Beste Deutsche Unternehmensmarke International“ ausgezeichnet wird.

Inzwischen wird der begehrte Marketingpreis auch jährlich in China, Italien, Belgien und Frankreich verliehen. Das erste Event in Russland findet voraussichtlich im April 2019 statt.

  • Beste Unternehmensmarke

    Unter den Gewinnern: Ikea (2018), BMW, Porsche, Miele, Amazon, Volkswagen, Google, Lufthansa, eBay, Siemens.

    2019 wird zum insgesamt vierten Mal die „Beste Deutsche Unternehmensmarke International“ ausgezeichnet. Dabei wird die Reputation deutscher Unternehmen nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in weiteren wichtigen Exportländern der bedeutendsten Wirtschaftsräume gemessen, nämlich den USA (für Nordamerika), China (für Asien), Brasilien (für Lateinamerika) sowie Frankreich (für Europa).

  • Beste Produktmarke

    Unter den Gewinnern: Nivea (2018), Coca-Cola, Bose, Apple, Lego, Miele, Canon, Tchibo, Adidas.

    Bei Best Brands 2018 wurde anlässlich des 15-jährigen Jubiläums Nivea als „Beste Produktmarke der vergangenen 15 Jahre“ ausgezeichnet (mehr dazu im Studiendesign).

  • Beste Wachstumsmarke

    Unter den Gewinnern: Lay’s (2018), Duplo, Nike, Captain Morgan, Samsung, HTC, Apple, Mey, Sony Ericsson, Motorola, Haribo.

  • Sonderkategorie

    Unter den Gewinnern: Nike (Best Millennials‘ Brand, 2018), Tesla (Best Future Mobility Brand), Amazon (Wachstumsstärkste E-Commerce-Marke), Hugo Boss (Beste Modemarke), Chanel (Beste Premium Beautymarke), Adidas (Beste Sportmarke), Kempinski (Beste Dienstleistungsmarke), Henkel (Beste Nachhaltigkeitsmarke), Artemide (Beste Designmarke), Gucci (Beste Luxusmarke).

    2019 wird die „Best Digital Life Brand“ ausgezeichnet.